Our first words to  students before signing up for their primary permanent cosmetic makeup class, are to encourage them to find out their local and state laws on licensing and permanent cosmetic  legislation. We will also discuss OSHA laws and permanent makeup, but more about that later.

Some state legislation,  such as that of Oklahoma,  requires specific training requirements.  Oklahoma state law says that a person must attend a permanent cosmetic makeup class  of the state's specification,  for 450 hours. The student must also pass a state exam, and then is required to work in the office of a physician.  In contrast, the State of Texas requires that a person fill out paperwork, submit a fee of approximately $950, and then will  obtain a "studio license" . Notice in the State of Texas, the studio itself is licensed, not the technician. The State of Virginia requires that you attend a class taught by a state approved trainer.  It is clear to see the difference between Oklahoma, Virginia,  and Texas,  and the importance of finding out what is required by YOUR state.  We recommend that you first begin by contacting your state department of health.  Different departments such as the state board of cosmetology or the health department may be in charge of licensing in your particular state.  There are even a few states who have absolutely no legislation regarding opening a permanent cosmetic makeup studio. 

To find out your local state laws, go here >>> STATE LAWS   After reviewing the online information, make sure you contact your local state to verify that content on the state's website is current, and that their laws on licensing  a studio or artist have not recently changed.  When you talk to the state official, make sure you explain to them that you are seeking information on licensing requirements  for "cosmetic tattooing".  Some people that you initially talk to may not know what permanent makeup is, and may believe that you are requesting information on cosmetology services.  This will help the telephone personnel connect you to the right state department from the get go, and avoid frustration on everyone's part.

In the past we have had a few students who neglected to research their local state laws, and after attending their primary permanent cosmetic makeup class, were surprised to find out that they had to meet other requirements such as additional training hours and classes to start their business. So it pays to do your homework prior to signing up for any permanent cosmetic makeup school,  as failure to do so can result in costly mistakes.  What about Federal laws such as OSHA? Does OSHA affect permanent makeup technicians? Well maybe, or maybe not....

OSHA Laws and Permanent Makeup

 

Permanent Makeup State Laws on Licensing
Permanent Makeup Classes with Terry Lively
Permanent Cosmetics Beauty Industry Information
How to Choose a Reputable Permanent Makeup School
NEW LINK: Paramedical Tattooing
NEW LINK
Your Questions Answered on Training with Terry Lively
NEW LINK: Facebook Page With Photos of  Students'  Work

 

   home about us  :  disclaimer : contact